Use the drop-down boxes above to navigate through the Website  
Return to Reasoning List

Here is a link to this page:
http://www.jah-rastafari.com/forum/message-view.asp?message_group=7607&start_row=1

A new rasta and the bible

1 - 7
Time Zone: EST (New York, Toronto)
Messenger: Jeffrey Di Lion Sent: 12/6/2021 7:42:14 PM

Greetings to all
I am new to Rastafari and I don't quite know where to start.

I also feel that I don't know why the Bible plays such a big role. Can you guide I about the origin of di bible? I have some questions about it.

Why is the bible so special and sacred other than other books? How is it important more than Haile Selassie used it and some of the stories in it take place in Africa? Voodoo spirituality also takes place in Africa.
Why do you keep the nazarite? Do you also keep the promises that you must not eat grapes and garlic? and why?
In the end it’s just a book written by human right?

Where would you suggest I'll start from if im to know what Rastafari really is? I feel like I'm rasta, but mi nah feel like I can represent it if someone asks me what rasta is.
Right now a lot of confusion still a gwan inna I

Messenger: JAH Child Sent: 12/6/2021 11:26:59 PM

Greetings Jeffrey I

I for one not really into bible - I was, then I moved past it. There are plenty Rasta who burn bible and Mutabaruka is a great one to watch his videos and take note of his wisemind on the subject.

If asked to define Rastafari - by someone who knows absolutely nothing other than Bob Marley and ganja - I will tell people "Rastafari is about the glorification of Africa and the liberation of African people, and the reverence of Haile Selassie I Emperor of Ethiopia." Of course it's an over simplification, but it's a place to start.

I think many here will agree with the I, on the value of Vodou, of Ifa, of Kemetic Mystery System, of the African spiritual systems that existed before christianity and islam.