Use the drop-down boxes above to navigate through the Website  
Return to Reasoning List

Here is a link to this page:
http://www.jah-rastafari.com/forum/message-view.asp?message_group=1586&start_row=1

Rasta/Dancehall Connection

1 - 5
Time Zone: EST (New York, Toronto)
Messenger: zedikaya Sent: 8/11/2006 11:51:20 AM

I am a writer - born in Kingston, now based in Brooklyn, NY. I am working on an article that attempts to explain the reason behind the number of dancehall djs that convert to Rastafarianism.

What is the draw? Does Rasta practice recruitment? Is there a ‘greater’ calling? Is there a ‘cleansing’ rite of passage? Is anyone willing to go on a limb and predict the next dancehall dj that will convert?

Any responses would be gladly appreciated.

Messenger: Bro Dominiq Yehyah Anbesa Sent: 8/11/2006 2:33:21 PM

Ises

If you ask conscious Dancehall artists them will tell you themselves that Dancehall/Reggae is not Rastaman Music nor divine. All who know themself should know that! I've heard Sizzla saying that. Respect for that! InI use them things as vehicle, but never get caught up in it. It man-made, and thus not from creation. Only JAH Binghi Heart Beat is Ivine.

Selah

Messenger: FarI-Sight Sent: 8/12/2006 10:18:40 AM

Blessed Love My Lord

All of these dancehall artists who wrap up turban and call themself bobo and ting is not of the EABIC and not of the Rt Hon King Emmanuel Charles Edwards.
the True Rastaman and the True BoBo Shanty is One who is walking upon a law and principle livity, carrying through divine works, as Rastafari is a DIVINE Livity.
All of these artists, those who have been to the camp know the Culture but still dont want to give up their worldly ways so that they may walk in the Father way.
ALL Reggae artists get CAUGHT UP in the dancehall and ting. Dancehall and Reggae is a commercial bsuiness. The word they sing may be Right but the riddim is not the Rastaman riddim, it is BABYLON RIDDIM.NEBUCHADNEZAR RIDDIM.