Use the drop-down boxes above to navigate through the Website  
Return to Reasoning List

Here is a link to this page:
http://www.jah-rastafari.com/forum/message-view.asp?message_group=5277&start_row=1

Mineral Resources of Africa

1 - 4
Time Zone: EST (New York, Toronto)
Messenger: Eleazar Sent: 9/2/2013 10:42:56 PM

Africa has great mineral resource reserves yet the economic benefit from these resources oftentimes has not gone to the African people. For example, cell phones that are used by babylon nations could not be manufactured without African mineral resources, and the minerals used to make the cell phones are extracted from war torn areas of the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

Because I am studying geology at a university, I think it is interesting that Haile Selassie I set up a geological mapping survey in Ethiopia.

---------------------------------
Mineral Resources

It is vital that the economy of Ethiopia, which is based on agricultural produce, be strengthened by an intensive exploitation and efficient exploitation of mineral resources. A systematic geological survey is thus being conducted to determine the existence and extent of mineral deposits, particularly in those areas which are considered likely to possess mineral resources. A systematic geological survey, now being conducted by the Ministry of Mines, has indicated deposits of copper in the vicinity of Asmara. A concession for the exploitation and marketing of these mineral deposits was granted to the Nippon Company of Japan and it is hoped that the outcome of this venture would be satisfactory. The search for other mineral deposits and petroleum still goes on.

The geological mapping survey of the northern provinces has been completed. A similar survey of the Rift Lakes region is proceeding at an accelerated pace.